SOOC Juvenile Black-Crowned Night Heron

This Juvenile Night Heron was very close to the walkway where I got this photo; he was so relaxed with us watching him, he tucked one foot and went to sleep!!  This shot is SOOC....not even cropped. Extra is the adult Night Heron.

It was a swimming pool, hot tub, bird watching and book reading kind of day here in Hawaii......it RAINED all day!  Luckily this first week I was planning on doing exactly that. This condo is a short walk to ponds where 80% of all Black-necked Stilts live and we saw many of the adult and juvenile Night Herons too. We walked on a wonderful boardwalk over and around the ponds. It was a pleasant (wet) walk on the beach to the entrance of the park. At least it is a warm rain at about 80 F. I also saw a whale breach way out of the water from our balcony!!!!  I was so excited......but I never saw another one so I am not sure my husband believed I really saw one. Our balcony also over looks a koi pond and watching them is almost hypnotizing......very relaxing. Okay.....so can you tell I am looking at the positives?   REALLY, my favorite thing is snorkeling and there was no way anyone was snorkeling today. Grrrrr. No, I am happy, we had a wonderful relaxing day! 
Thanks for following me on vacation. I will probably be able to tear myself away from my book today to look at a few journals.  :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.