Lost in Aviation

Often on a Monday morning I feel a bit 'lost' pining for the feeling of euphoria and freedom that a weekend in the company of flying friends has brought whether that be on the ground or in the air.

This morning I'm sat in the CAA (Civil Aviation Authority) offices waiting for my Private Pilot's Licence renewal having submitted pages and pages of paperwork including eight pages to confirm I speak the English language. Bureaucracy don't you just love it? Perhaps that's why the CAA is nicknamed Campaign Against Aviation!

So while I wait my mind returns to yesterday afternoon when one of my flying buddies took to the air in G-ACDC a 1933-built de Havilland 82a Tiger Moth for his first flight in this wonderful aircraft. According to his check pilot he took to it like an old hand too! The smile on his face says it all.

Funnily enough in the seven years since my first flying lesson I've always declined offers to fly in the historic Tiger Moth. The reason being I promised my late grandfather that I'd only fly one if I was in command and I've not got round to clocking up enough tailwheel hours to make the transition. I've been fortunate enough to fly in my friend's gorgeous Stampe and another friend's beautiful Jungmann and both are simply magical.

Given a choice on a Monday morning I'd sooner be lost in aviation than lost in paperwork! What would you rather be 'lost' in on a Monday morning?

------------- Mono Monday Challenge ----------

Today is my first week as Mono Monday host on the theme of LOST inspired by this historical event.

Next week's theme will be FOUND with more details and this week's hearts and stars on Thursday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.