Brought to book

Over the weekend, I demonstrated a complete lack of respect for any pocket-sized technology at my disposal and lobbed my phone at my Kindle.

Not on purpose, I should stress. I just chucked my phone on the sofa completely forgetting that the Kindle was sitting there uncovered, blinking it's e-ink screen at the ceiling.
There was a sharp clack. Not a crack, a clack. A sharp report indicating that something has almost-got-broken-but-not-quite. At first glance, the Kindle looks fine - the phone, I've come to determine is probably indestructible. This is a shame as I don't like it much and now that I'm nearing the end of my contract, I'd be happy for an excuse for a new one.

Over the last couple of days though, a mark has appeared on the Kindle screen. It's still perfectly possible to read around it, but it bothers me a bit that the screen is slightly blemished. Weirdly though, the mark looks uncannily analogue. A perfect digital representation of a rogue pencil smudge on the real page of a paper-back. More specifically, like the same smudge on every page of the paperback (as though set upon by an OCD vandal with limited resources).

So, it's annoying that it's there, but I continue to be grudgingly impressed with the whole e-ink thing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.