Peter's Ponderings

By Lofty

Pegasus

Took Trotter up to visit my parents this weekend, and made the best of the opportunity to show her all the area has to offer:

Churches
Pubs
Cafes
The cathedral
Dads gargoyle
The canal
Canock Chase
Argos

We did it all!

We also found time to visit the National Memorial Arboretam. We were in the hunt for the 'Animals lost in war' monument (turns out its not there), but stumbled upon this.

It's called Pegasus, and is a monument to the paratroopers (i think...).

Most of the monuments there are very stark (thinking of the 'shot at dawn' memorial to the deserters), but this stood out for being so dynamic.

Not the most cheery of afternoons but well worth a visit on a dry afternoon, and I wish I had more than my phone with me to take photos!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.