Mr H(andsome)

Tonight is the end of year dance for Mr H's class (Year 8) at his Intermediate School. He has made such good progress in his recovery from the tendon and nerve repair, that he is no longer even in a moon boot. So he can got to the dance, and do a bit of dancing. 

He was really keen to have a bow tie; like his Grandpa wears (these days only to meetings; ordinary workdays, an ordinary tie). So he asked me if he could borrow one; a red one. Of course. 

I had no idea how I would tie it for him. First up I tried to tie it on him looking in the mirror, because of course that's the way I tie my own. Quickly realised that my technique actually depends on feeling the tie on my neck as I found that I couldn't actually make the right moves without that tactile input. 

Brilliant idea. I'll tie another one on me, and he will follow my moves. Aaah No. It was quite unfair to expect him to get in one session what took me a number of attempts to get right. Tried the mirror trick again. Still a fail. 

Last idea was to try and do it on him, while facing him. Complete reversal. Hey presto. Success on first try. No idea now, why and how that worked better than the mirror. Happy grandson. Proud mother. Pleased as punch Grandpa. Doting Granny. Even his younger brother was happy for him. A few quick photos before he went off to join and enjoy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.