Lunchtime Panorama

Physiotherapy was postponed until Thursday, so my first engagement today was to accompany Len to the Oaks in Charnwood Tennis Club Ladies' Christmas Lunch.

We assembled at The Priory on Nanpantan Road, Loughborough.

Despite the apparently upmarket ambience, the restaurant lacks similar levels of food and service. I warned Alison, who sat next to me, that there would be problems with my requiring a gluten free lunch, and so it proved to be. Menu choices were very limited.

Len seems to be the only man who plays tennis with the ladies on a Wednesday morning but he was stranded at the end of the table with the chairman at the other end. The chairman bought the first round of drinks. Fair enough.

It was a very pleasant occasion.

Len had worked out that I had probably lost my wooden walking stick at the farm where I bought fresh milk on Monday, so after lunch we drove straight out over The Forest from the pub. The proprietor was extremely pleased to see us as I had indeed left my stick there. She said she'd posted the discovery on her Facebook page, but as I haven't liked the page, and rarely look a pages anyway, despite maintaining two myself, I hadn't realised.

I was extremely pleased to see my stick again which I have had since it was given to me at Khoula Hospital in Muscat after my first hip replacement. It's a good, standard NHS type product.

In the evening, Len, Basil and I drove over to George and Kat's for a convivial evening in Leicester.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.