THE STORY BEHIND THE NAME

I went to our Designer Outlet shopping mall this morning as I wanted to have a wander around before it got too busy - not that I buy designer clothes, you understand, but it does get rather crowded at this time of year. 

I had a welcome cup of coffee - definitely a requirement before "hitting the shops" - served by Hanna, a smiling waitress in Giraffe - and then wandered along the wide mall enjoying the lights of the Christmas decorations, when I noticed the name of this shop, which appeared to be a new one since I was last here a few months ago.  I was interested in the origin and reason for the name - so having taken a photograph - and the young man inside having waved as I did - I went in and asked; well if you don't ask you don't know!  

He said that when the LA Denim brand was first conceived about 10 years ago the man who thought it up said "There are many religions in the world but everyone wears jeans."  Looking around at the many people rushing around outside, that was quite true. 

I had a look on the True Religion website and it says: "True Religion Apparel......is dedicated to upholding fair and legal employment practices and environmental sustainability requirements."  Their products are very expensive and I probably wouldn't wear the jeans (I'm just going into Marks & Spencer) but if they are trading ethically that's no bad thing these days. I made several purchases in M&S but can't say any more because I know a certain someone reads my Blips!

I also bought two hats - a bit like buses - you don't see one you like then two come along at once - so all I need now is a new anorak, but I'm still looking for that! 

A successful morning - went back to Giraffe for lunch and was served again by Hanna, who was still smiling, then I called into the library to do some more research for my Street Challenge tomorrow - I think that's about enough for one day. 

I read this quote out to Mr. HCB, who very rarely comes shopping with me, and he said that it sums up a woman's attitude to shopping!

"Shopping is a woman thing.  
It's a contact sport like football.  
Women enjoy the scrimmage, 
the noisy crowds, 
the danger of being trampled to death, 
and the ecstasy of the purchase." 
Erma Bombeck

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.