Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Isaac Pool Fishing Platform

Was just heading to see Mom in hospital this afternoon when I got a call from her nursing home to let me know they'd been called to see if they could accept her today.  Must say I was surprised, no one had contacted me, so I kept heading to the hospital to see what was happening.

Once there it was clear that the doctor had agreed to the discharge, Mom was keen and the nursing home were prepared to accept her as long as she arrived by 7 pm.  I left it to the hospital to arrange transport and was called later to say she would be transferred at 4:30 pm.  I dutifully popped over to the home at 7 pm to find Mom's room empty!  I checked the lounge, no, she wasn't there. Finally I checked with the nurse, "no she hasn't arrived yet" she said as she checked her watch.  "It's too late now, we were quite clear that it had to be before 7 pm".

I called the hospital back to see what had happened.  Apparently they were still chasing the transport.  "That's no good" I said, "The home were quite clear that they wouldn't be able to receive Mom after 7 pm".  Silence!  I was put on to the sister who said they'd have to rearrange for the morning.  I was glad it wasn't going to be me to tell Mom!  I realise these things happen, and there are other priorities, but raising her hopes of leaving hospital only to be dashed is very difficult for someone of her age to understand.

I quickly grabbed this shot while travelling during the day.  Ultrawide (14mm full frame equivalent), you get a lot of everything in the scene.  An HDR as the front element of the lens doesn't have a filter thread, and the scene was too wide an exposure range for a single shot.  As ever, converted into B&W in Silver Efex Pro.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.