stujphoto

By stujphoto

LaFarge Cement Works

East Lothian is by enlarge a reasonably flat county distinguished by its three major landmarks - Bass Rock, Traprain Law and North Berwick Law. You can always count on being able to see one or two of these features from most points in the county. However, there are also man-made structures which also demand one's attention. Cockenzie Power Station was one of them until it was demolished a year or so ago. For those of us one the more easterly side of the county the Cement works and Torness Power Station tend to dominate the view. The Cement Works also operates as a useful weather station as you can immediately see from what direction the wind is blowing.

Normally on a Friday morning I am scouting about for landscape pictures but today was so overcast that there was little point in this and I felt I would be better concentrating my attention on making the most of part of the sky line that showed elements of drama. I headed out to where the sky looked most interesting and passing by the cement works I wondered if I could incorporate this in my images. So that became this morning's challenge. I must admit to a fair bit of post-processing in this image, largely thanks to the use of SilverEfexPro.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.