Alberta

By Alberta

Same place (as yesterday) different story

Back again at Luc's bar this time at the end of a 40km ride. Much less humid today but still hot so it was out early morning and I did get some lovely photos of one of our favourite views .. they can wait to another time... really feeling strong on the bike now in fact I led today and Mr A said it was uncomfortable for him on the back wheel ...

Anyway we stopped for our regular coffee and of course all the shops were open today. I was looking to see who might be going in and out of the butchers. At one point Luc looked across to see what I was focussing on. He must wonder what fascinates me so much about the butchers .. and this trio walked past. It seemed particularly poignant when I was processing the photo to consider the option of straightening it and I thought how different it could be if we could do that with people. There are so many people here, not just elderly ones who walk so badly or who have become so misshapen with their work and life. I often think with my practice as a Feldenkrais student what a difference that could make to some of these people. But the one time when I asked our neighbour the farmer if he was doing exercise to regain movement in his leg after a stroke and he looked at me as I had suggested he become vegetarian! Just yesterday I posted a link to this 92 year old lady It is likely that many of us will live to be 100 so how we maintain our ability to move with grace becomes even more significant.. But there are many people like this lady here in rural France .. and my Mum became like this (with osteoporosis) by the time she was in her nineties.

Anyway the time for Mr A and I on our own here is coming to a close. Son J and his wife join us on Thursday and we are very much looking forward to that .. but this time has been very special...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.