Pictorial blethers

By blethers

A different dusk

Thought this was a sufficient contrast to my last two blips showing what it's like in winter in the kind of place where I now live - this is the very heart of Glasgow, city of my birth and my youth. St Enoch's Square is rather different nowadays from my childhood memories, though I admit to having been there often enough since then to know the changes: there is no grand St Enoch's Station but rather the massive shopping mall on whose roof we ended up parking today; we entered the Subway by an unremarkable plastic dome rather than a quaint red sandstone building with crow-stepped roof.

I'd been meeting all my first cousins (bar one - he's in China or something) and their spice for a very noisy lunch in Kelvinbridge; we'd been unable to park in the nearby Park & Ride on which all our meetings are predicated and had instead to brave the horrors of navigating city centre car parking in the run up to Christmas. It was a nightmare, and these jolly lights which make the dusk a very different contribute to the confusion of a city which has substantially rearranged itself in the past 50-odd years. (It moves more after dark - did you know this? Thank heavens for Google maps ...)

Lunch was lovely, by the way, and I was kissed by a total stranger from the next table by way of apology for their noisy party. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.