Small Places

By PicLocata

Careful with those valves!

This was all it took to disable my car. A tyre valve broke off at a garage when I tried to check the tyre pressure. Valves that include tyre pressure sensors are fragile, and often break, but I didn't know that till today. Of course the car has no spare spare wheel, no jack and no wheel spanner.

I'm a technologist of sorts myself, but I don't believe more complex technology necessarily makes for better machines. Sometimes simple and robust is better.

We waited two and half hours with no help or update from Mercedes roadside assistance. The service side of the garage was closed, but the owner happened to call in. He kindly took Mrs P home (half an hour away), collected my summer wheel/tyre (I had just switched to winter wheels), and swapped the wheel.

All done as an act of generosity; he didn't want payment. So my special thanks go to Ian at East Port Garage and Buttercup Cafe, Newburgh. 

An early entry for Derelict Sunday, since I didn't get my usual Saturday walk. Thanks to evolybab for hosting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.