My silly smile...

...for admirer's SillySaturday10.

Why a silly smile?

Well, last Saturday I recounted the tale of my nightmare getting my mobile wifi sorted after my previous mobile wifi device broke down.

In the end I managed to figure out the new, more complicated, wifi device (no techie people to help me), but alas not one of my devices (apart from the Nexus) wanted to print using the new wifi device (the printer had printed out it was set up perfectly). Almost all my printing was done before using my iPhone and iPad. So this was a blow. Even my netbook wouldn't have anything to do with the printer (it did before with the old wifi device) saying a driver was now missing.

I did have a printer CD installation thingy, but as it was only a small netbook it doesn't have a CD drive. Sigh. Downloaded a 100 page PDF on my new wifi router and was studying that.

So, it wasn't until today I felt like tackling it all. I started midday with the driver & software installation on my netbook downloading from the web. My connection cut out a few times, so it was several abortive attempts...then finally...hey presto...I had my printer software on my netbook.

It seems if you register then you can send stuff from anywhere by email for your printer to print. So I thought this would be the answer to be able to carry on printing from the iPhone and iPad. A bit more complicated than before, but workable. So I was pleased.

Then the info came up that if I installed their app on the iPhone & iPad then I would be able to print from those devices from the app. Now that sounded fantastic! Brilliant.

But alas, for some reason the printer wasn't recognised by the apps. So then came a list of suggestions how to alter the settings in the printer itself. I wasn't happy with that, but I plodded on slowly and methodically as I had been all day....and finally the apps on my devices recognised the printer and said hi printer....

Then I had a thought...because I had altered the settings in the printer to accommodate the apps, would this also have changed something so I could still print directly from the iPad and IPhone as I used to.

So I tried it, and believe it or not I can now easily print directly from both devices ...and I don't need to go through the apps!!! I have been 6 solid hours plodding through all this. If only I could have had that info that the apps gave me to alter the printer settings in the first place...but that was not available anywhere until I had gone through and done all this...and by this time it is 6pm...

But I am a happy bunny with a silly smile because I have everything I want and more with the printer and wifi and my devices now!!!

So my entry today for admirer's SillySaturday is a drawing of me with a big smile!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.