The Doctor's Waiting Room

I've been away from Blip a few days with a bout of appendicitis but am now well on the way to recovery. Yesterday I felt well enough to  go to the doctors, with a little encouragement. He agreed with me about what it was, and that I was on the road to recovery but gave me very strict instructions to get myself directly to hospital if it returned and my stomach started to really hurt.
There are great similarities between doctors' waiting rooms in Sweden and the UK. Maybe waiting rooms across the world all share certain elements.
However there are differences. Here it is rare for the waiting room to be full of people. Partly because in Sweden patients are booked in for more or less the time the doctor needs with them, and partly because you get moved on from the waiting room into examination rooms or treatment rooms, where you may still wait a while but at least you are on your own and not catching flu from another patient.
I am so glad that when I start to feel sick...
1) I have a warm and dry home to retreat to.
2) There is a functioning (and almost free) health service to help me out when needed.
3) Harling Darling is here!
There are far too many people in the world that can't retreat to a comfortable home and can't be sure they'll get medical help if needed.
It seems very uncivilised that even in Europe and rich countries in other parts of the world there are people without these basic necessities.
Enough of the philosophising...
I managed a daily photo so I'll be backblipping the missing 3 days, but not just now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.