The Instruments Of Passion

A fantastic afternoon of sublime music as Arthur and I went to see the Ensemble Copain in Sumiyoshi, courtesy of cellist Peter Mallet who gave us free tickets. I was stunned by how beautiful the recorder can sound when Kitayama Takashi played it for Concerto in G-major by Anton Herbele. Mozart's Concerto in B-flat major was very pretty, and I can well understand why Arthur called it the Humpty Dumpty song. However, the piece de resistance was, without doubt, Beethoven's masterpiece, Symphony No.5. Simply incredible. Before performing the piece in its entirety, the conductor had the ensemble perform snippets where the da-da-da-dum refrain occurs, in various forms, throughout the work. Really interesting, and I found myself listening for the da-da-da-dums and feeling like a sonic gold prospector every time I discovered one of these audio nuggets.

Only problem, I've been da-da-da-dumming ever since I left the concert hall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.