Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Sunrise, Pelsall North Junction

I was out of breath well before I reached this position!  I'd made the right decision to head out before sunrise, but wasn't quite where I needed to be to make the most of the conditions.  I've never been the greatest runn....jogger, but carrying a tripod camera, spare lens and accessories, I was even less able than normal.  Still, did manage to get where I wanted in time, mainly because the light stayed like this for 15 minutes or more.

Technical: Neutral density grads used to control the light of the sky.  Once back on the computer, I used some judicious adjustment masks to correct the shadow and highlight exposures.  A b&w luminosity mask was applied just to bring out a bit more detail in the sky.  Finally, cropped and straightened, some clarity and vibrance added and final sharpening.  

If your interested how it looks unadjusted (so to speak out of the camera), I've added it as an extra, as well as a shot from further back of the same junction.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.