Testing new equipment

Helena brought me not only some tea in bed this morning, but also a rose in vase, a beautiful birthday card, a 'big' present she found for me on the Isle of Wight and Bomble who as Helena wished me a Happy Birthday, Bomble seemed to miaow in unison (well that is what I like to think)!

A little after 9am, the phone rang and Dave called in response to my email to him asking if I could borrow a lens which he wants to to sell, and which I have identified as one I would like to have. He suggested bringing it around, which he then did thirty minutes later and I could then use it for a day to see how I like it.

Well, the answer now is, I of course I love it. So it may be that I have to give myself a present, even though there is no money to spend! So all day I have been out and about in the garden taking a range of different pictures of the subjects and types I seem to regularly produce - bees, butterflies, flowers, snails, Helena, garden views across the landscape clouds and of course birds. After I drove Helena to work, I went down to the River Frome, where a small road crosses it, and saw the two swans who are in residence on that stretch of the river. I photographed them under the shade of the overhanging trees as they groomed and preened themselves, with rippling reflections in the fast running stream.

I'm sold. The lens is a Canon 70--200mm f4 IS L series, and has given me much sharper images, whilst the exposure seems to be much more accurate, as there must be 'better' light coming through the lens. What do you think? This picture was taken in completely cloudy sky a short distance from the bird feeders under the Rhus tree, where it is very shady. I love the way long-tail tits all congregate together and they have been around all summer to my great delight. In fact today there have large numbers of birds in the garden, including a charm of goldfinches which haven't been around too much recently. I hope the sparrowhawks and buzzards are keeping their distance. Last week I saw three buzzards having a go at a sparrowhawk not far above our garden, as they marked out their territory I suppose.

We are off to visit Helena's family near Oban, in Argyll, on Thursday, and before that I must return the lens to Dave and have a chat. It would be fantastic to take it with us for all those memorable scenic and classic views to come. Oh dear, what should I do?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.