a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Winterwood

"No one can take your place with me
And time has proven that I'm right
There's no place I'd rather be
Than at your place for the night


No time can pass your sight unseen
No moment steals away unfound
Lifetime lived in such a dream
Floats like a feather to the ground


And for the first time I've been seeing
The things I'd never noticed without you
And for the first time I'm discovering
The things I used to treasure about you


The birds like leaves on Winterwood
Sing hopeful songs on dismal days
They've learned to live life as they should
They are at peace with Nature's ways


You are as natural as the night
And all that springs from you is good
And the children born beneath your light
Are like the birds on Winterwood


And for the first time I've been seeing
The things I'd never noticed without you
And for the first time I'm discovering
The things I used to treasure about you"

Don Maclean ~ Winterwood

Cathy and I took a walk this afternoon and I took the Nikon along.  The light was lovely - golden hour seems to extend for longer at this time of year.  Its been a delight to be able to use the DSLR and then edit the photos, I've missed my Mac, could you tell?

Apologies if I've been a bit of a misery guts for the last month or so!

This morning I queued up outside the Apple Store along with all the other Christmas shoppers.  The Mall was horribly busy, but the Apple guys were vey well organised, and the whole process was a lot less painful than I thought it was going to be.  So I now have the Mac back.  

But this recent process has been a helpful reminder that technology doesn't last forever.  It is now nearly 6 years old, so it is likely to become "legacy" kit from Apple's perspective in the next year or so.  ...I've started my replacement saving fund, as the next time it breaks down it may be more expensive and more difficult to get it fixed.

I'm hoping to start doing the rounds of your journals a bit later on today (once the dinner is cooked and the ironing done etc) :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.