a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Found

Mono Monday: Found

'Yes alas! through him the Enemy has learned that the One has been found again. He knows where Isildur fell.  He knows where Gollum found the ring. He knows that it is a Great Ring, for it gave long life.  He know that it is not one of the Three for the y have never been lost, and they endure no evil.  He knows that it is not one of the Seven, or the Nine, for they are accounted for.  He knows that it is the One.  And he has at last heard, I think, of hobbits and the Shire.'

J R R Tolkien - The Fellowship of the Ring

It is many years now since I last re-read Tolkien's The Lord of the Rings.  Back in my teens, like many others, I would read it regularly once a year. I used to love that book so much. I never thought that I would grow out of it, but life has a way of moving you on and the past is another country and they do things differently there.  

Maybe if I am lucky enough to have grandchildren I will get to share this with them once more.

This week's subject for  MM151, was set by our host, FlyingPRGirl.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.