ciorstain

By ciorstain

Allan and kitchen music

Yesterday morning Allan phoned and suggested to come over to Glasgow and bring me stuff that I had left in the flat 5 years ago when I moved out to Glasgow, plus my small pipes that I had borrowed to the maker when I moved and ever since not seen.
We are trying to arrange a dinner together in Glasgow since literally years! 
A few attempts failed but we kept trying.
So today it was real :).
In the late morning Neil and I headed out to do some groceries shopping for the dinner and then started preparing before Allan arrived at 4:30 pm with a lot of stuff I had forgotten about. 
He also brought my small pipes.
I started learning bagpipes a few years before I moved to Scotland but did give up at some point when living in Edinburgh. There were just too many fantastic musicians around me and I felt I would never be able reach a level I could be at least a little bit happy with.
Allan had worked on my pipes the day before and got them going nicely.
They sounded lovely when he played them.
So I thought I would give it a try. It was hard and I had really problems to remember any tune, but then Allan helped me and finally I was able to play one of my favourite tunes from beginning to the end. (I should mention that it is a very slow and very easy tune and it was far from beautiful!)
Neil took my camera and was taking some photos and a little film of the process. I was not even aware that he did that but was delighted when I saw the result later.
We had a lovely evening with catching up with everything, family, friends etc. 
I spent 10 years with Allan. The first years I was still in Germany and then another 6 years in Edinburgh. It was tough years and we finally realised that its not going to work. (Life with a musician is not easy!)
However, we stayed friends all the time and are regularly in touch. Neil never objected that and in the past he often bought me concert tickets when Allan was playing somewhere.
It was great showing Allan finally our flat and have a relaxed evening with loads of nice food before he left after midnight to get home to Edinburgh.
And I think I will try to play my pipes again :) 

The Blip is Allan in our kitchen and the extras are stills taken from the movie Neil did. First one me trying to remember the tune and Allan helping ("No, down a note ...!") the last one is when I finally got it :)

It was a happy day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.