Artistic Interpretation

My visit to London today was primarily to visit the Wildlife Photographer of the Year Exhibition at the Natural History Museum.  I travelled up on the train with a friend and we called in at the Portrait Gallery first to have another look at the Taylor Wessing Portrait Prize (some stunning examples and some not so) as well as a second look round the Picasso exhibition.  I really like some pieces and others, whilst I can appreciate his skill, they do not 'speak to me'!

Lunch in the Crypt of St Martin's before heading over to The Nat Hist Museum.  The dinosaur in the central hall is soon to be moved so this view will not be available for much longer; it's having a makeover!  I used my Samyang 12mm lens on a slow shutter to get the surreal feeling and then have further 'enhanced' it in post process to give an artistic and not quite real impression.

The WPOTY was stunning, as always, although even this is not quite real as you need to be a diver with loads of money to have the best kit and also able to spend months in out of the way locations to get most of the shots.  You do have to admire the dedication of many of the photographers - I don't think I'd want the shots that much to endure the conditions and deprivation of some - maybe that's why I am not in the running for this type of award!

Back at Marylebone station, we went our separate ways but a great day out.  Do take a look at Hildasrose  journal for today as she may well have a similar shot!  at the moment her shot for yesterday is showing which is more suited to the Taylor Wessing prize than the WPOTY!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.