Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

Street Corner Series

NE Oregon at NE 23rd Ave

Cold and dry.  Snow tomorrow, apparently.

I took a walk today at lunch, the first time in what feels like a while where I was able to take a walk just for the sake of it, not because I was en route to do something else.  My walk took me past a street corner where there'd been a big old Foursquare home, and now it's not there.  It was a shock.  The corner feels weird.  I photographed it, sans house.  When I got back I looked at my other photos of that corner with the house still there, the most recent picture being September.  For some reason I just don't feel like blipping it, but here I am talking about it.  I guess I don't feel like sharing that naked corner yet.  I photographed some other interesting to me things too, but don't feel like sharing those either!  I'm in a funny mood and feel protective about my pictures today.

A good friend who always sends me books at this time of year sent me a collection of Maeve Brennan's short stories called The Springs of Affection.  I've never read her work before.  First, I'm reading the stories she wrote for the New Yorker during the '50s and '60s that he also enclosed, I've been dipping into them each evening, the stories are immersive, funny, sad, detailed observations about New York City life and people.  Really wonderful.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.