Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

Spectacular

The last rehearsal was chaos. The children forgot their lines, the costumes didn't fit, the stage creaked terribly at the wrong places, Angelo (the teacher) talked non-stop giving instructions leaving the kids nervous and confused. I feared the worst.
And then, last night, a miracle happened. An explosion of colors, professionalism and stunning performances. Something so beautiful I could never have expected in our small town so deprived of culture that it doesn't even have a bookstore. I had tears of joy in my eyes while taking lots and lots of beautiful photographs. 
I chose this one as my blip for today because I love it for many reasons: I love it's composition, it's timing, it's colors - and I love it and am proud of it because this is my daughter in her first play and because I had no idea she was capable of reproducing such expression. It shows the moment the Queen of the Butterflies (played by beautiful Camila) makes her first appearance on stage.
Today, I am a proud photographer and a very, very proud dad.
Tonight will be the night of the dancers. If they can match the performances of last night's little actors, it will be another fantastic night to remember.

P.S.: When I asked Isabella where that expression on her face had come from, she answered: "Dad, I was acting!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.