Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

Camila

When Camila talks with you, she gives you total attention. She keeps her big, beautiful eyes fixed on yours. This creates almost immediately an atmosphere of trust and intimacy.
Camila is my wife's belly dance teacher, and I was eager to take some pictures of her during one of her classes. I thought a blip with a little bit of action wouldn't hurt. Camila not only gave me permission, but also "froze" during her dance to give me time to shoot her executing some typical movements.
But something wasn't quite right. Her students weren't laughing and having fun as they usually did during classes. So Camila stopped everything, asked if the ladies needed to talk and then, very politely, showed me the door. (While driving home, my wife told me that it had been a tough day for most of the ladies and that they simply needed to share their frustration, anger, and hurt with the rest of them.)
I waited 90 minutes, and when the ladies finally came out, Camila continued to talk with some of them (see blip). That's when I understood where Camila's real action was.  

(In the extras, two shots of Camila dancing.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.