Steampunk Brocton at the Fuller Museum of Craft

Dear Diary,

When life cancels a party you go to a museum!  Mary and I headed to our favorite museum, the Fuller Museum of Craft.  We were not disappointed.  The primary exhibit was a steampunk re-imagining of the shoe industry in Brockton, Massachusetts which reached its peak in the early 20th century.

The Sole of the New Machine was a fascinating amalgamation of old machinery and whimsy in typical steampunk fashion and we were both delighted to wander around the galleries. I find the Fuller so inspirational on many levels.

There was also a small exhibit that featured photography in mixed media pieces and I was especially drawn to the inventive ways these artists combined their photographic work with other materials.  I took a lot of notes!

Today, I am off to a Blipmeet with Berelaxed and her famous cat Raspberry.  I will visit them on my way back to Maine.  The weather is frigid but no snow so it should be smooth sailing back to my Emerson later in the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.