After the Storm

The one good thing that I will take from this summer of chaotic weather is the amazing cloudscapes that have been presented to us on an almost daily basis. It's been great for landscape photography and I have to admit that I've spent too long tonight sorting through the bounty collected from a run on the moor this evening. I left just after a thunderstorm had passed through and got back just before another heavy shower swept across. In between the rain I was treated to the most wonderful light and some incredibly dramatic skies. It meant that more photography went on than running!

On these days when the light and skies are so good I feel like I have to go through the pictures and process my favourites while they are still hot out of the camera. I have a feeling that I'm unlikely to ever get the time or have the inclination to return to them. It's kind of now or never really ... which explains why I'm posting late again, another day having disappeared in a flash!

It's also meant that I've had another hard decision to make in respect to which photograph to blip. I chose this in the end as it seem to sum up the day so well. Chaotic skies and water lying everywhere. The moor is incredibly wet underfoot at the moment. It took me quite a while to find a point to safely cross Backstone Beck because there was that much water coming down.

Thanks so much for the hearts and stars and comments for yesterday's Smoking Stone. I was rather pleased with the result myself so it was great to have that feeling endorsed by so many of you. I really appreciate it. Thank you all again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.