Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Three Score Years and Ten

 
Or as my Dad would say, “Now you are trespassing”!
 
So on this special birthday where did I want to go? Scotsdales Garden Centre. We usually go to Cambridge for lunch, but as my husband has another Addenbrookes Hospital appointment tomorrow I did not want to go to Cambridge two days running.
 
So, we started with breakfast and then looked around the shop and especially at the Polar Bear band, which is today’s main picture. Then we visited the Reindeer, Ice and Jet, they are the two extra pictures. We left before it got too busy. When I got home I planted some more bulbs, about 200. Yes, I know it is late, but when they are £1 a pack and already sprouting they are a bargain and if they do not do well this year, they will be fine next year.
 
So, for the record, seventy years ago when I was born, at fifteen minutes to midnight, it had started to snow. I do not remember it, but I am told that it was the start of the 1946 – 1947 very severe winter. The midwife did not arrive in time and my father delivered me; quite unusual in those days I would think. By Boxing day, when I should have been born, I had whooping cough (brought to me by a relative whose three children had it) and I was not expected to survive, but my Dad had other ideas and looked after me. I was not taken outside the house until the following March.

So with a birthday this close to Christmas it has to be celebrated several times. Tomorrow, as I was almost born on that date, we will go to Cambridge. On Sunday we will have a family meal at our daughter’s home and we will also celebrate my grandsons birthday. We will have pizza and birthday cake and probably more presents and cards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.