Woodpecker in the garden

Sitting at my desk I noticed a few crows behaving oddly in the sycamore tree at the bottom of the garden.  The light was poor with a low cover of grey mist shrouding the landscape. I picked up my camera from a bag near my feet and opened the window and snapped a few pictures.  The crows seemed to acting belligerently towards each other with a lot of squawking and occasional intertwined flights around the tree tops.

I waited for a couple of minutes and heard a nuthatch in another tree and just enjoyed the sound of the wildlife. Then I saw a woodpecker fly up close to the crows from the bottom of the valley where they seem to nest in the big oaks aligned along the banks of the Lime Brook fifty yards away.

I guessed correctly that the woodpecker was going to come to the bird feeders as I had refilled them earlier. It was hard to get good exposure with the limited light but once it landed on the rhus tree close to the feeders I tried to get a steady shot.

Within a few seconds a nuthatch also perched on the rhus tree qucikly followed by a tit.  It amused me that they were all sitting with each other rather than feeding. Eventually they succumbed. There are a couple of shots of them in the 'Extra Photos'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.