Doverow Hill from Selsley

The sunshine and warm air drew me out to walk by the canal west of Stroud this afternoon. Once again i waited in the same spot for the kingfishers which I saw diving for food last week, but once more they were absent.

I walked along the canal and then drove to another spot at Stanley Mill which I thought might be interesting to photograph. Unfortunately the setting sun directed the light onto facets I couldn't get access to.  So I ventured nearby to King's Stanley church where I've never been before, which was interesting.  the church dates from the 12th century and is Grade 1 listed. I must go back and have a look inside. 

I chose a longer route for the drive home running along the hillside under Selsley Common. I turned a corner and quickly stopped when I saw a different angle of view towards Selsley church. I parked by the entrance to a public footpath, which drops down from the earthworks on Selsley Common. The path takes walkers north towards Doverow Hill and the northern stretch of the Cotswold escarpment, near where the Cotswold Way straddles this wide gap in the hills formed by Stroud's River Frome. I've blipped this scene and added two more images of the churches to the 'Extra photos'.


'All Saints Church is at the very heart of the English Arts & Crafts Movement. Its distinctive saddleback tower rises more than a hundred feet to catch the changing Cotswold light on its French Gothic gables.
 
Built under the patronage of Sir Samuel Stephens Marling, the church was an early commission for G. F. Bodley, who got to know the Pre-Raphaelite brotherhood in 1858. It was his promise of commissions that contributed to the establishment of a fine arts design firm by William Morris which included Edward Burne-Jones, Dante Gabriel Rossetti, Ford Maddox Brown, and Philip Webb. This remarkable partnership of artists and intellectuals was called upon to design stained glass windows for the new Church.'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.