CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The first Morning Glory flower

If only it was a Flower Friday challenge today, I would enter this, the first first Morning Glory flower from my newest plant. Sadly their flowers only last a few hours, and this one has already begun to shrivel so it won't last till Friday. I tried germinating some seeds from this summer's crop in plugs back in October and only one of the fifteen plugs sprouted. (I blipped the first signs of growth here.)

In the two months since then it has grown leaves and twined up a small stake and it has reached a height of about two feet in its pot on the inside window of my study. I noticed a small flower bud forming two days ago and today this beautiful flower greeted me when I got up to make tea. I always have a quick look out of that window to see what the day looks like.

I love Morning Glory plants and am really pleased that I have managed to defeat the traditional seasonal approach to planting seeds. I used to think it was an annual plant but realised that if the conditions are warm enough that it will happily grow as a perennial. I am also pleased to say that a second seed sprouted at the base of this plant a couple of weeks ago and has just started to grow its second series of leaves. Another seedling appeared in a another pot in the dining room after I had moved the potting compost from the Morning Glory seeds plugs onto another plant. Yay!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.