CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A Morning Glory seed sprouting

I was so excited this morning when I spotted the first signs of this seed sprouting. It is a seed from my Morning Glory plant which I harvested a couple of months ago. I suddenly decided last week to see if they would grow, even though it is late in the year.

I have had self seeded plants growing from a different Morning Glory, but had never managed to germinate the seed myself. I'm hoping that it will be happy grow on my window sill through the winter and then I can plant it out early in the spring for it to cover the trellis again. 

Morning Glory flowers are one of my favourites because they are so prolific and always there to greet you every morning and say goodbye by teatime. I saw them cascading over trees and banks in Sri Lanka two winters ago and that reinforced my urge to grow them more often. I have always needed to buy a small plant from a nursery but they are hard to find and never in very good condition. So if I can learn how to propagate them regularly I shall be able to spread them all around the garden. I am aware however that their close relation is bindweed and I have a constant war with their presence around the garden. If morning glory was hardy I might feel slightly more worried about planting it out, but I sense that I can keep it under control. We shall see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.