Salmon leaping up the Falls of Braan, Dunkeld

I'm way behind with my blips but couldn't resist posting this picture. I'll back blip when I get home.

Helena took me to the Hermitage, a National Trust estate near
Dunkeld in Highland Perthshire. She last came here forty years ago and I'm not surprised she wanted to return. The main attraction seems to be the Falls of Braan, a beautiful series of big sections of waterfalls.

A viewing point was built overhanging the steepest of the falls and there we could watch salmon leaping up these precipitous faces of rock deluged by blocks of brown stained river. I've just showed this picture to a friend, with whom we are staying the night near Perth, and he thought this salmon could have weighed 20 lbs.

It was so exciting to see my first sight of a wild salmon swimming upstream to spawn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.