Surfing the Severn Bore

After taking Helena to work early this morning I drove out of town and headed for the River Severn at Epney, a small hamlet a few miles south of Gloucester. The rain stopped just in time and the sun was near  to making an appearance by the time I was set up with my camera beside the river from a vantage point where I could see the Bore approaching.

This special event happens at times of the highest tidal range, which is of course linked to the pattern of the moon's movements around the earth. The River Severn is tidal for many miles, even above the ancient city of Gloucester. The Bristol Channel into which it flows is renowned for having some of the highest tidal ranges in the world, so the effect of the incoming surge of water up its estuary and along the river is a sight to behold.

People come a long way to see the 'big' Bores, which happen irregularly, but can be discovered through web sites listing them. In recent years the surfer community has also taken to the Bore as it provides a challenge and an opportunity to surf whilst inland. Some surfers of the very biggest 'Bores' manage to surf for miles upstream, whilst other people just join in for a short trip at more accessible points.

Epney is one of those places on the western bank of the river where a road provides good easy access to the bank, where surfboards can be launched. I watched the surfers gather, launch themselves and the paddle downstream to a point where they could stand on sandbanks to await the surge of water coming round the very large horseshoe bend.

I was delighted when the rain ceased and then the sun actually appeared in open sky with a faint rainbow just ahead of me. You can hear the noise created by the waves and the turbulence this formed soon after first sighting the white water of its crest. I took pictures for about ten minutes, which is how long the wave took to reach me after I first saw it.  I gather it travels at about twelve miles an hour.

When I took this picture the size of the leading wave the surfers were riding was just beginning to diminish, and I heard the surfers raise the voices in a cheer. Some of them waved as you can see. My 'Extra photo' is of a couple who were the last to be standing as they passed by near the far bank. 

Soon after the waves passed down below me, crashing into the wall and the nearby mudbanks. The surfers all  then paddled back to the mudbank near where I was, next to the pub, and clambered out. You could feel the exhilaration they'd experienced and the camaraderie of a bunch of sportsmen doing what they like best.

I spoke to Greg and Jerry, two surfers I met afterwards, and offered them some pictures which I will mail to them.  They sounded pleased with the offer and I'm glad to think they will be able to have copies to remember this particular day.  Some of the surfers jumped into their cars and surf vans, and sped off further up the valley to catch the Bore again, where the river narrows nearer to Gloucester. They might even do it all again on the next tide, which will be the last of the big Bores this year. Greg said they often surf at night time too! He had surfed yesterday's bore as well even though he lives in Wales!  I must get my flash set up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.