Nigel at Sladebank Woodland open day

We slept in late today for the first time in ages, which I felt I really needed. The only plans we had were to visit the Sladebank Woodlands open day which our friend Kesty and Martin have organised for this weekend. A few years ago they bought part of a wooded hillside near to their home at the beginning of the Slad valley, and now they were launching it as a local community resource.

I knew the land adjacent to it because part of it is a childrens' play area which as a town councillor I was involved with its management in years gone by.  Today that play area is thriving and much loved as a good adventure area.  So I was delighted to find that the woodland will now provide a wonderful extension to the opportunities available to both children and all the community thereabouts.

Martin and Kesty, who have two kids, organised a variety of activities in the wood which included pressing of apple juice as well demonstrations of wood working such as in my blip.  When I first saw this man who I've blipped I didn't recognise him as Nigel, as he has a beard now, who had become a friend some years ago before he moved to live and work in Swansea.  He had brought his woodturning frame for the weekend.

I took a few pictures which I've offered for them to use on their Sladebank Woods website,which hopefully will show people what they can enjoy when they visit the woods. We'll be back again, as I want to sit around their log fire and enjoy outdoor life with some friends and probably a glass of ale, or maybe some cider.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.