CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Window of St Paul's church, Cheltenham

I returned to Cheltenham to pick up a bag which got left behind last Saturday in the rush to leave the market held in a cafe adjacent to St Paul's church, Cheltenham. There was torrential rain on Saturday so today's sunshine put a new perspective on the area.

I saw that parents and their children were leaving the play group being held in the church, so I wandered in to have a look. In fact they were closing up for the day, so I quickly walked around the ground floor and spotted this window near the front door. I loved the colours formed by the sun shining through the odd panes. A hoover sat on the windowsill as well as a globe.

Before driving off I took a shot of the the front of the church, which I presume was built in the 1830s like much of the rest of the St Paul's area. Then I turned around and photographed the road leading away to the south-west called St Paul's St North. Most people probably imagine the elegance and very different dimensions of the promenades, grand terraced houses and other buildings of Cheltenham Spa. But actually there are large areas of less affluence which are quite run down and need quite a lot of loving care. I've added these two pictures to the 'Extra Photos'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.