CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Union Street before lights out

I went to meet Camilla and Chris early this evening at the Ale House pub, the building on the right of this picture. Chris may be interested in becoming a trustee of the Preservation Trust and Camilla and I have worked with him for several years on the Lansdown Hall Working Group for which he provided chartered surveyor services.

When I left the pub at about 7pm the street beside the Farmer's Market, which is held on the pillared premises to the left of the picture, was deserted, so I grabbed a couple of shots of the recently mounted Christmas Lights which straddle Union Street.

As soon a si turned around I bumped in to Rob, a town councillor whom I worked closely with for all my time as a councillor. He was just on his way to the last full council meeting of the year and we had a quick chat.  I realised that I didn't really miss being a councillor any more, on the whole. Some of the work we did was valuable and that I miss but not the new tensions that are arising with recent times.

I left him to return to my car then bumped into another councillor en route to the same meeting. That was John M. who first got me to stand for a town council seat, who is still concerned and just as active.  I wished him well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.