The abandoned Stroudwater canal near Whitminster

Helena was running her stall at Whitminster village hall so after dropping her there after mid-morning I went for a drive. I don't often use that winding road leading to Frampton-on-Severn so took the opportunity to stop for a stroll.

The abandoned Stroudwater canal, which connected the River Severn with Stroud, is not usually this clear of weeds and mud. I think it has been maintained by local fisherman as signposts indicated they use this stretch. I liked the line of silhouetted trees on the south bank and the incised meander across the meadow formed by the adjacent stream. I think that is all that is left of the River Frome. At some points the river and canal were one.

I stood on the bridge over the canal and on the other side I saw the cut leading to Saul Junction, where it meets the Sharpness canal. There were houseboats moored permanently and several fisherman sitting on the opposite bank. I have added a picture to the 'Extra photos' of the nearest fisherman as he reeled in a small roach, and another of the nearby Whitminster House Chapel with a lovely old tree.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.