Waddesdon Wealth

Any visitor to Waddesdon Manor, especially at this time of year, is wowed by the wealth of colour and style of the House. Yes, there is the financial wealth of the past very evident, but the style and care that has gone into the Christmas season is like no other.  We have had thousands of people round the House and they are all wowed by what they see.

Today I was working the first part of the day in the area of the House known as the Bachelors' Wing - smoking room, billiard room - masculine areas!  The colours though are sumptuous red and the Christmas tree decorated to fit.  It is so enjoyable interacting with our visitors and, I hope, enhancing the enjoyment of their visit. I had a very interesting conversation with a man who had worked in Australia for many years doing up expensive properties - he knew all about high quality workmanship (of which he saw plenty at Waddesdon) and hanging silk 'wallpaper'.

In this area of the house there is a little time before the first visitors filter through and this gives me the opportunity to take a few photographs.  i am really enjoying the different ways I can use my excellent compact camera (Sony rx100 iii). Full manual control, albeit with a limited range) and large sensor, with the benefit that it slips nicely into my handbag so I can always have a proper camera with me.  A bit of processing using the topaz starburst effect and I have a blip!  I love the reds in this section of the House - very deep and luxurious.

The day then progressed into being very busy - not surprising though as we are 'sold out' for all but a few days in early January.  Entry to the House is by timed ticket even if you are a member of the National Trust, which has caught out more than a few.

Blipmeet at Waddesdon tomorrow when I'll maybe experience it from the visitor point of view.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.