What a Blipmeet!

One amazing Blipmeet today - the annual Waddesdon Manor Christmas Meet.  Sixteen of us in total gathered in the Wigwam cafe for coffee, cake and catch-up which merged into lunch.  Then there was the obligatory Blipmeet photoshoot before moving on down to the stables to see the incredible Waddesdon Manor look-a-like made from gingerbread; it is wonderful and very cleverly done.

Blippers in the extra are: Wendy and JohnRH, Nicoiseannie,  Radio Girl, Black Tulip, Valerie1947, John (chauffeur for Back Tulip), CoffeePotter, Anniemay, Hildasrose & SHH, Landscapeartist, me and Igor.

Some had just come for the catch-up and departed before the remaining Blippers went into the House. It was very strange for me being inside as a visitor but I did enjoy the opportunity to wander and photograph whatever I fancied.  As I am there quite often taking pictures I opted for the more creative photos and used the Lensbaby as I just love the unusual focus and bokeh this gives. My blip is taken in the Billiard Room.

I had given up trying to 'herd the cats' by this point and eventually we re-grouped outside the restaurant for Afternoon Tea.  It was unbelievably sumptuous and we all ate every scrap, having decided that calories don't count when on blipmeets and especially if they are in small portions!!!!

Time was marching on and we continued outside to catch the lights on the Manor before venturing out into the gardens for the Bruce Monroe installation.  Mmmmmm - one vast display of lights, interesting but no variety and difficult to catch a point to make an impression.  This is the fourth year he has exhibited at Waddesdon - year 1 was fantastic, Year 2 pretty good with a few 'iffy' ones, Year 3 definitely thumbs down from me and this year, year 4........ one added as extra.

Now all the cats had gone their separate ways and I wandered back to my car for the journey home.  Such a fantastic day and with such wonderful company.   If you missed it - that's a shame and we missed you (you know who you are!).  There will be a repeat next year - date still unknown - but keep Friday 15th Dec in your diary - NO EXCUSES!!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.