Community Garden

Some years ago a number of gardens around Oban were asked to donate plants to fill up beds in a new community garden that was being constructed next to the play park at Atlantis Leisure, Oban's leisure complex. We gave several large shrubs from Arduaine Garden at the time and I haven't given it much thought since.

However, more recently I was asked if I would be interested in advising the Play Park committee on the future planning and maintenance of the garden, which is quite small, and after having a look, I said I would. I've therefore visited again and given some serious thought to how to look after it.

The difficulty seems to be that the kids treat the place like an adventure playground, running through the beds and smashing the plants. I'm not sure that I'll be able to tolerate that, and will have to work out how we can teach the kids - or maybe their parents - to respect the garden as well as having fun there.

My Blip shows a general view and a new story-telling corner with a carved seat and several little mushrooms for children to sit on!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.