First Photo of the Day

The sun is not quite up but its glow is above the hills. The blackbirds and starlings are waiting in the tree for the lady to go out on her deck and put food out for them. The tree is bare and everything is very still and very cold. So began my day.

My plan was to finish wrapping presents. But instead I spent a quiet morning. I looked at my email and took a link from Alexandra of the Atomic Heritage Foundation to a speech my mother gave some time ago, date unknown, about what it was like to arrive at our home in Los Alamos during the making of the atomic bomb. It was a strange feeling to hear her voice, though for some reason it seemed too high pitched. But still I could tell it was her just by what she said and how expressive and dramatic she was. It took me way back and made me thoughtful. Alexandra provided a link to a speech by my father but I haven't listened to that one yet. 

I didn't finish Mom's speech before I had to leave to go to a family lunch at Silverado. The food was good and I had conversations with quite a few folks. I only knew one from our support group. I took a box of mementos with me so I could fill the display case outside what will be Arvin's room when I travel in January. I brought things he had made, things he had collected, photos of me and his daughters, and other things that bring to mind things he loves like crows, cats and cheetahs. It was fun gathering the things and when I put them in the case I was happy with the display. It should help him remember and to be able to share more about his life. Arvin will go for his first day visit on Monday and will be a day person until my trip in January.

When I left I did quite a bit of needed shopping and then came home. Soon Arvin got home and we had a good quiet evening together.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.