Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A lesson learned

Elizabeth came to take Archie out for the day. I only tell him a minute or so before her arrival, so that he's looking out of the window for a only short while, watching carefully people moving on the other side of the hedge, all a-quiver, then looks back at me, accusingly, if it's not her.

I popped into town to the Apple Shop for a treat I've been eyeing up for quite some time... but I'm going to leave it wrapped up till Christmas. No! Of course I'm not - I'm going to play with it now, then wrap it up in a day or two.

But the bad news is that:

I dropped my new phone...

The good news is that although I dropped it quite a height, it landed in a garden full of lovely old leaves!!!!

I nearly died! The thing I've always been so scared of doing, I did it. I'm going to get some sort of wrist strap to attach to it. This will not happen again.

But how to get all the way round into the park, then climb up a steep bank full of greenery to rescue it? Thank goodness a family came along the path down in the gardens, and the nice dad answered my plaintive calls of 'Heeeellllpppp'. He scrambled up through the undergrowth and handed it to me.

Luckily there was a fence between us or I would have hugged him!

As promised, not another Archie in festive headgear shot. In fact, no Archie. Here are the new lights round the shelves instead.

And an extra - I was trying out the zoom lens on the iPhone (pretty good) so I was holding it steady by leaning it on the fence... then it just slipped out of my hands! YIKES! If I'd dropped it the other way on to the pavement, I would have been VERY unhappy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.