But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Blackford Hill.

It was the cycle club’s annual Christmas bash this afternoon. I entered the photographic competition, though I did have some misgivings about it as I take photography more seriously than the others. While I didn’t think my picture was the best, I still managed to win the cycling themed prize; however, my conscience was salved somewhat as the lady with the best picture had gone to India for it and she did win the prize in the general category.
 
My main contribution to the proceedings was to organise the “Where is it?” competition, nearly all of the pictures for it were taken on club runs in November so the active members should have been able to work them out. Had they been astute, they could have written down their answers before arriving as they will have seen me disappearing, camera clutched in sweaty hand, at intervals during the rides. I also took the first snap for next year’s edition. It’s the view from the Merchants Golf Club dining room window where we had our lunch. I wonder how many people will recognise it.
 
A good time was had amongst good company and I repaid the debt from last year when the secretary drove me and my Zimmer frame to and from the venue after I hurt my back, this year I took him and his crutches home – he hurt himself when he fell off a mountain.

EDit: Thanks L.F. This is Blackford Hill not the Braids: title duly ammended.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.