But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Arthur's Seat.

The day started rather disastrously. I had prepared the trike for today’s run last night but, this morning, I couldn’t find my cycling shoes. Now the only cycle that I have that is ridable with trainers is my little used “shopping” bike, fortunately its tyres were pumped up and I just had to transfer stuff from the trike saddlebag to a panier that would fit the bike. Two items were overlooked: a pump (nobody punctured today) and a waterproof jacket (only a few spots of rain fell, and they waited until I was nearly home); the realisation of the omissions came as I arrived at the start which, by some strange coincidence, was when I remembered where the shoes were.



Thereafter, the day went well: the weather was kind, there were no mishaps and good company was enjoyed. Of the twenty one souls who started, nineteen made it to lunch in Haddington, the remaining two had made their excuses – something about being double-booked. Various reasons were given for not continuing to the coffee stop, the wind probably figured prominently here, so only five of us completed the ride.

 

The Blip is a shot I have taken many times before, but makes the grade today as it just about fits the Wide Angle Wednesday challenge, hosted as always by BobsBlips. The shot is taken from Whitehill Road, a road that was on my route to work many years ago: the lights are of the Fort Kinnaird shopping centre (which wasn’t actually there in the days when I travelled this path) with the unmistakable outline of Arthur’s Seat in the background.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.