But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

The Christmas Fairy.

It was our U3A Christmas party today and I was volunteered to document the event but, first of all, I had to do a little recitation. I opted for “Hey Diddle Diddle,” the Tolkien version from “Lord of the Rings.” I did enjoy that, partly because there is a bit of hanky-panky going on between the dish and the spoon, at least, there is the way I tell it; and partly because no one in the audience knew what it was; I even had one lady who professed to be a Tolkien buff but didn’t remember it. I have a great sentimental attraction to the book as the last bedtime story that I read to Jnr was this book; it took six months at half an hour a night. He was keen for a film version to be produced until he did the arithmetic: a film would last a couple of hours but it took me around a hundred to read it; vast chunks of the tale would have to be left out.
 
At the other end of the party, this young lady did a monologue about Christmas from the point of view of a very grumpy fairy - with pine needles in her knickers, and very good she was too. Apparently, she has another one in case she’s ever asked again – which is very likely.
 
I now have a few pictures to edit, which for most of them means hitting the delete key.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.