Life goes on

On the way in to town for a bit of last-minute Christmas shopping, while stopped at traffic lights I liked the look of what I saw in the wing mirror. In line with recent desperation blips, I decided to catch the opportunity while I could, so caught this reflected moment.

I'd no clear idea of what I was going to buy (though there'd been some jokey stuff in Arnotts (hopefully temporary) Jervis Centre branch, so I began there. As it happened, I got two bags full of stuff, most of which will serve as excellent sticking fillers -- and one item fortuitously turns out to be ideal for one of 'the gang'.

There are still gaps on the gift list (just as there are ugly (hopefully temporary) gaps on the Blip list, and a couple of internet orders have yet to arrive. All in all, though, the shopping situation could be a lot worse.

Traffic was amazingly light going in to town, and neither the streets nor the shops were especially busy either. Lots of stores had prices marked down, too -- some reductions as much as 70% (which probably only proves that prices were unrealistically high to begin with, and that the British chains actually brought their euro prices into line with the true exchange rate). Anyway, I was well pleased with myself when I got home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.