The return

The rusty glow was enticing if a little disconcerting.  It seemed to radiate a warmth that wasn't in the chilled air.  As I walked towards the archway, I heard music from a church organ.  It was barely audible but I felt sure it was the melody I'd been waiting for.

Between the cracks in the wall, I sensed she was there, watching. Peering at me, I knew she'd be finding it hard to know for sure if it was me; all those years ago, her sight was fading - it can't have improved in those conditions.  Apprehensively, I took just one step forward. 

And then another.

It took some time for me to reach the crumbling brickwork but it was no place to rush.  Not after the last time.  Someone had betrayed me, but who could it have been?

As lightly as a dragonfly on a fragile flower, I rested the tip of of my fourth finger on the curve of the archway above me.

"You've returned? I doubted you'd come back."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.