Winter White Woods

"Wintry mix" is what they call it. The weather that began as snow on Friday night and Saturday turned into sleet, then freezing rain, and finally just plain rain. When I got up on Sunday morning, the snow was melting and the woods around our house were misty and white.

Of course, even though it was still raining, I just had to go out with the camera, under my umbrella; this time, one that didn't explode with a loud POP and then implode on me. It's the little things that mean a lot . . .

The snow was covered in deer hoof prints and bunny tracks. The deer tracks led to a spot in front of our hedge, where it looked like they'd had a huge party. What could be so exciting there, one wonders?

There was even, amazingly enough, bunny poo, which my husband took as a tremendously good and hopeful sign: we still have at least ONE bun left in the yard. My husband has been trying to woo it with carrots, but so far, it's been keeping a very low profile.

For a girl who loves trees, there may be nothing better in the world than owning one's own tiny little woods, no matter how small. As the gentleman said, whose woods these are I think I know. . . . This acre is mine, and I couldn't help feeling a wee bit of pride in that.

Yes, the day was damp, and some might even say the weather was miserable. I guess some people just don't see the beauty in a cold rain. But I smiled happily to myself while strolling along under my umbrella in these white winter woods.

The soundtrack: Procol Harum, A Whiter Shade of Pale, live in 1969 at Fillmore East.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.