A Foreign World

That's what exploring is all about isn't it?  Entering a foreign world of some kind, immersing yourself in it and learning something from the experience.

For the last six months or so, I have found myself inadvertently exploring the foreign world that is the UK courts, legal and justice systems.  I haven't liked it, but a troubled young man forced us into that world.  If you have been following my journal through that time, you will know that there have been many times of frustration, fear and despair.  There have also been moments of sheer gratefulness to my friends, on Blip and elsewhere who have shown unstinting support towards me and the rest of the family as our youngest member struggles with his demons.  And believe me he has many.  A real result of some of the worst things about our society.  Giving me such feelings of hopeless helplessness.  I like to be able to put things right.  I haven't been able to.  There have been times when I have stood before my God and sobbed in my heart for my helplessness. I have lost count of the times we have been back to court, in spite of an early plea of guilty, experiencing a range of barristers and judges along the way.  Today we reached the end of the line with another new barrister and judge.

This shot is the view from the top of the court building, looking down to the atrium where a lot of the little meetings seem to go on.

It's been a momentous day.  We've come to the end of this bit of our exploration.  We've plumbed the depths of what might hold us together as family and what tears us apart as the Troubled Young Man didn't cope well with the delays and uncertainty.  We came to the end with a judgment which means the young man will not be present in our midst for some years now.  I can't explain how that feels.  We needed it.  There is some relief.  There is still fear.  There is still helplessness.

There is hope that the justice system will come good and he will receive all the support he needs so that he can return to society as a functional and responsible not so young man.  God knows, that is what is needed.

And so, there we are.  We move on now to explore another new world...

Tomorrow is another day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.