a lifetime burning

By Sheol

A promise of Spring

Tiny Tuesday: a promise of Spring

Thanks to Osuzanna for hosting the Tiny Tuesday challenge this month.

Even though Winter has yet to officially start, the little cherry is starting to blossom.  It does this every year; blossoming in December and then again in the Spring.  I am not sure whether it is confused or if this is simply part of its life cycle.  I am however very grateful of the early glimpse of the loveliness that Spring that it provides, particularly against a cloudless sky.  Without it, the  dark and dreary days of Winter would be much worse.

I'm packing today in preparation for the trip, of which more tomorrow.  

My day started with a quick journey into Bristol this morning to buy a "backfriend" a sort of portable lumber support seat that helps a bad back enormously, particularly when travelling.  It is not for me, it is for our daughter Jess who managed to hurt her back a month or so ago and who left her own backfriend behind on a train last week.  Jess is coming with us too, which is a delight for Cathy and I.  

We did offer our son James the chance to join us, but he is spending his Christmas with his fiancee's parents.  They separated some years ago, so he has two separate Christmases to attend even without visiting us.  We shall miss him, but (along with most of the rest of the world) will be trying to use Skype to keep in touch on Christmas Day.  

Cathy is out this evening at the local bookclub Christmas meeting (which strangely is an all female affair).  So I am cooking a gluten free curry for Jess and I, and there are gluten free cakes for later on.  I can't tell you just how much I am looking forward to it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.